Build your own website. Do it yourself websites.
facebook twitter linkedin youtube blog
4585 Hilton Parkway, Suite 100
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Phone: 719-592-1800 • Fax: 719-260-8398

Land Use Committee

Contact Marla Novak- Director of Government Relations, at or (719)592-1800 ext. 14, for all Regulatory and Government Affairs issues.
The monthly HBA Land Use Committee meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 7:15am for breakfast with the meeting to begin at 7:30am.
Chair: Tim McConnell/ Drexel, Barrel & Company
Vice-Chair: John Radcliffe/Ensign Engineering & Land Surveying, Inc.
JANUARY 22nd Land Use meeting is cancelled

Current Issues being Discussed
HBA Support for Resolution Extending Expiration Period of Previously Approved Preliminary Plans and Final Plats - Click Here

HBA Provides Comments to the EPC 1041 Transportation Package

On December 17th, Kyle Campbell with Classic Consulting, appeared before the El Paso County Board of County Commissioners during their work session regarding implementation of their proposed 1041 regulations for transportation. HBA had previously provided comments to this regulatory package through a working group process and HBA’s comments were incorporated into the draft. The County Commissioners have moved the package forward to a future hearing date along with the HBA recommendations. HBA’s suggested changes dealt with consistency of transportation definitions between the 1041 rules and the County’s Engineering Criteria Manual (ECM). HBA’s main concerns were outlined during the working session with the Commissioners and re-affirmed:
That a 1041 permit is not required for:
1) Arterial highways and interchanges and collector highways planned or constructed within the scope of an application under the El Paso County Land Development Code;
2) Arterial highways and interchanges and collector highways owned, maintained, or constructed by El Paso County
3) Arterials highways and interchanges and collector highways included within funding categories A, B, or C of the Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority.
HBA greatly appreciates the collaborative process on this regulatory package with El Paso County, and HBA will continue monitoring this issue as it moves through the approval process with the Board of County Commissioners.
Please contact William Mutch for more information at: or (719) 592-1800 Extension 16

El Paso County Public Health On-Site Wastewater Treatment System Regulation Revisions
Participation needed -For details CLICK HERE
A draft of the El Paso County Board of Health Regulation Chapter 8 was mailed to the full stakeholder group on or around October 10th, 2013.
Stakeholder meeting was scheduled for October 24th at 2:00pm at Public Health- John Snow Room located on the 2nd floor of the Citizens Service Center located at 1675 W. Garden of the Gods Road.
Updates to follow.

Special Districts likely to be the topic of a future task force
City Planning Director, Peter Wysocki, made a presentation on Special Districts to the Colorado Springs City Council, during a Monday September 9, 2013 informal working session of the Colorado Springs City Council. HBA attended the meeting and has been discussing the issue in individual meetings with City Council members. It is clear that the new Council wants to become better educated on the formation, operation, taxing authority, home owner education, and other elements of special districts. As a result, HBA will be continuing to monitor this issue expecting the eventual formation of a City task force to look at special district issues. HBA will also be working to ensure our members are represented on the task force and that industry expertise on the use of special districts as an important tool for development is featured at the task force table.

Land Use Review Division Front Counter Hours
In a continued effort to improve the customer experience with the City of Colorado Springs and the Planning and Development Department, in particular, the Land Use Review Division front counter hours have been expanded effective June 3, 2013 and now include noon to 1 PM and Friday until 5 PM – essentially being opened Monday through Friday 8 AM to 5 PM.